Happiness Challenge Day 6-7

workshop_hero_happiness_1

September 13-14 Day 6 and 7 of the Happiness Challenge    

I am sorry for not submitting my last two happiness posts on time. I was sick over the weekend and was just not feeling up to blogging. While I was sick I did have an opportunity to recognize another important part of my life that makes me extremely happy. My mom! While my boyfriend was out of town this weekend I got to spend some quality time with my mom. Unfortunately for her I was sick, but she didn’t seem to mind too much. Regardless, we were able to make the best of a sickly situation and had a great time together. My mom took wonderful care of me and worried about me the entire time. Being that I am pregnant my options for treating my sore throat were limited. Mom was quick to make me as many home remedies as she could think of. She was brilliant and really helped to make me feel better. Over the weekend we were able to share one of our good old fashioned mommy daughter days. We went shopping; we ate yummy food, watched tearjerker movies and stayed up late together. It was just like the good old days. Even though I was sick I loved every minute of it. download (2)

Moms just always know what to do to make their kids feel better. I have such a great respect for my mom. She is always thinking and worrying about others. While I constantly encourage her to make sure she stops to do things for herself it is just in her nature to want to care for her kiddies and make sure they are alright. As I get closer and closer to becoming a mommy in the next few months, I now recognize that these qualities will no doubt pass on to me. I am already so in love with my little man and he’s just hanging out in my belly. I look forward to caring for him and spending lots of time creating lovely memories with him. While he probably won’t be into watching those tearjerkers with me I know we will come up with something unique to us that we can share together. These special moments are what life is all about.

“To describe my mother would be to write about a hurricane in its perfect power. Or the climbing, falling colors of a rainbow.” —Maya Angelou

“A mother is the truest friend we have, when trials heavy and sudden fall upon us; when adversity takes the place of prosperity; when friends desert us; when trouble thickens around us, still will she cling to us, and endeavor by her kind precepts and counsels to dissipate the clouds of darkness, and cause peace to return to our hearts.” ―Washington Irving

Ambition in the City

Leave a Reply

