Japanese Bowl: Reflections of A Poem by Peter Mayer

I’m like one of those Japanese bowls
That were made long ago
I have some cracks in me
They have been filled with gold

That’s what they used back then04_03
When they had a bowl to mend
It did not hide the cracks
It made them shine instead

So now every old scar shows
from every time I broke
And anyone’s eyes can see
I’m not what I used to be

But in a collector’s mind
All of these jagged lines
Make me more beautiful
And worth a higher price

I’m like one of those Japanese bowls
I was made long ago
I have some cracks you can see
See how they shine of gold.
-Peter Mayer

I had the pleasure of hearing these  beautiful words over this past weekend. The words of this poem resonated with me so deeply that I wanted to share them with you all. Within these words one is given the gift of self-reflection and acceptance. When we can appreciate and accept the experiences and challenges we have faced in life with an open heart and open mind, it is then that we can look upon ourselves and the world around us as beautiful works of art.

Each obstacle that we have overcome has left a unique mark upon us. We can grow and learned from every moment that challenges us. Where we may have once felt a piece of us was broken or damaged, this poem offers readers an opportunity to look at oneself  through a different lens. You are still whole. You are more beautiful and more unique than when you were first created. Each crack, each broken fiber of your being has the potential to be mended. When you love yourself you will painstakingly, and artfully take the time to put yourself back together. Mend these areas of yourself with your brilliance, acceptance, and inner power, and watch as your strength, wisdom, and beauty emerges for all to see.

When we love ourselves for all that we are, our beauty and strength shines through. No matter the amount of cracks we have amassed in our lifetime we are as beautiful as those Japanese bowls lined with gold. The gold that makes us whole again are the experiences we choose to grow and learn from. We all have the ability to mend those parts of ourselves that we feel are broken. Love yourself enough to make the repairs you thought weren’t possible. Your body, mind and spirit will shine all the more because of it. Embrace choice and keep moving forward.

Ambition In The City

5 comments

Leave a comment